Why I Decided to Go Dairy Free.

Today I want to give you guys a closer look into my dietary decisions.

I know many, many people struggle with their weight, as well as their own body confidence. I was one of them.

For some reason I was feeling especially unhappy about my body. It’s not that I was overweight, but I simply did not feel healthy. I was always so incredibly bloated after meals, and I didn’t quite understand why. Until I realized that I was lactose-intolerant.

This is part of the reason why I decided to go dairy free. I knew this was a huge move, considering most dishes and desserts contain some form of dairy: milk, butter, yogurt, cheese. Surprisingly, this move wasn’t that hard to make.

After January 2017, I also decided to exercise extensively, at least for 4-5 times a week. The great thing about your body is that you are in complete control of it. If you’re unhappy, you have the power to change it. Otherwise, how can one complain? I know that I simply couldn’t.

Marking April 2017, I stepped onto the scale. I lost about 13 pounds! Though this was a product of both the combination of working out + cutting dairy, I knew the weight shed didn’t matter as much as how I was feeling: fit, happy.

If you are unhappy with your weight, cutting dairy could do wonders for you. Not to mention, you would be significantly contributing less to the amount of cow products we consume in the United States. For example, milk is advertised as healthy because it has a great source of calcium. Though they don’t mention that you can get your calcium elsewhere — salmon, kale, broccoli, almonds. Debatable or not, I kind of don’t like the idea of pus possibly being in my cup of milk. Haha.

Switching from cow’s milk to plant-based (almond, coconut, etc) is easy. All you do is buy a different carton of milk when you go to do your weekly grocery shopping.

Did I mention cutting dairy could significantly decrease possible breakouts + acne? Back to cow’s milk, it undeniably has hormones in it. While it doesn’t affect some people, if you’re breaking out really bad, dairy could be the cause of it.

My end goal isn’t necessarily to make readers go dairy free, it is more to re-evaluate one’s health at this point in life. Yes you could be fine now, but creating these healthy habits could save you down the road. Loved ones would love to see you around for as long as you can be, please remember that.

If I sparked some sort of inspiration, I hope you give it a try.

I’ve never felt more fit and confident in my life!

β€’SCβ€’

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

